Candidates Line Up On Deadline Day In Race To Replace Jesse Jackson Jr.

4798After weeks of speculation and rumors, the race to replace Jesse Jackson Jr. in Congress narrowed Monday.

In this Nov. 28, 2012 file photo taken in Chicago, former Congressman Mel Reynolds announces that he's joining the increasingly crowded field running for the U.S. congressional seat vacated by Jesse Jackson. Jr. Reynolds is vying for an endorsement from Cook County Democratic Party officials during a slating meeting that will be held Saturday, Dec. 13, 2012 in South Holland, ill. (AP Photo/M. Spencer Green)
On the final day candidates are able to formally file their petitions to run in Illinois' 2nd Congressional District, 22 had done so -- five of them in a Republican primary, as of 2 p.m. Monday.

Among those who formally filed are former state Rep. Robin Kelly, who announced that she's already raised more than $200,000 in the race to represent the district, which covers most of Chicago's South Side and area suburbs, according to NBC Chicago.

(Read below for an updated list of hopeful Jackson Jr. successors.)

Other notable candidates who filed early Monday include state Sen. Toi Hutchinson, Chicago Alderman Anthony Beale and former U.S. Rep. Mel Reynolds. Former U.S. Rep. Debbie Halvorson, who challenged Jackson in the Democratic primary last March, filed her petitions later Monday, as did former U.S. Senate candidate Joyce Washington.

A once-frontrunner in the race, state Sen. Donne Trotter, did not file petitions Monday. Trotter announced his exit from the race late last month after his arrest for attempting to take a gun on a plane at O'Hare International Airport cast a long shadow over his campaign. State Rep. David Miller, another name being floated previously as a possible Jackson successor, announced Monday that he would not be entering the crowded congressional race.

Source: Black Voices 
blog comments powered by Disqus

Pastors & Leadership Conference 2014

NewsOne Now with Roland Martin

Kings of Christian Comedy

Christian Convocation and Chapel Speakers